The Hall was built in 1886 by Frederick Jennings - his yard was nearby in Prince Street, next to the Prince of Wales PH. There is a date stone above the rear entrance in Girling Street. It was also a hotel in its early years as well as the HQ of a local Lodge. The mix of different levels and styles combine somewhat uneasily. James Bettley, in his recent revision of Pevsner's Suffolk, comments that there are 'picturesque details but the building lacks charm.' However, the building certainly makes a bold visual statement, dominating the approach to Sudbury along the Melford Road. Modern UPVC windows replicate the glazing pattern of the former wooden windows.
View other properties on North Street